The Rundown – It’s 38-33 Column B over Column Russo

In a relatively monumental turn for Hoboken, the final link in moving from the town’s past to a future with fresh faces is now in place.  The “Column B” Mayor Zimmer backed candidates appear to have won the Democratic Committee vote in a 38-34 ward by ward battle throughout Hoboken.

So at the end of the 4th quarter it’s Mayor Zimmer with Council President Peter Cunningham and Councilman Ravi Bhalla 38 and the “Real Democrats” Russo Clan 33.

This is unofficial and without County/Clerk confirmation.  Outstanding absentee ballots, write-ins, provisionals and maybe phantom votes must still be counted.

Some of the high profile confirmed winners appear to be: Theresa Minutillo, Phil Cohen, and Sue Chait.  Ann Graham was said to come up short.

MSV has confirmed through well placed sources the final tallies will not be available until tomorrow.  Word was City Hall was swimming with major players: Councilman Dave Mello, Councilman Ravi Bhalla, Scott Siegel and Michelle Russo among others were lingering looking for da scoop.

Wednesday folks and it could very well be a new dawn in Hoboken.  Or will it?

Update:  Among the Elephants, Scott Siegel pitched a perfect game with a 9-0 shutout and his main Republican counterpoint, Nathan Brinkman was upset in a close 4-3 vote last heard.

On the Democratic Committe side, a senior source called the election a victory and declared it a continuation of the emerging trend of victories for Mayor’s Zimmer’s candidates.  (MSV had a middle of the night comment this was not the case but we’ll await the final count.)

Related: The Grafix Avenger has a day long updated piece posted on the day’s election events too.  Little Avenger was said to refuse to go to nighty night time insisting on a creamy milk shake to celebrate the expected final victory tally.


Leave a Reply